Total # of views as of March 24, 2026 as of 11:04 AM DST =6,701,776
-snip-
Afroman's Rap recording "Lemon Pound Cake" uses the tune of The Drifters' now classic 1964 R&B song "Under The Boardwalk".
**** Edited by Azizi Powell
This pancocojams post showcase two YouTube examples of Afroman's 2022 Rap recording "Lemon Pound Cake".
This post also presents information about Afroman and includes the lyrics to his "Lemon Pound Cake" record.
The content of this post is presented for socio-cultural and entertainment purposes.
All copyrights remain with their owners.
Thanks to Afroman for his socio-cultural legacy. Thanks to Afroman & Merkules for writing this song and thanks to sancarlos97 for sharing the lyrics for this song on azlyrics. Thanks also to the producers of these showcase videos on YouTube.
**** INFORMATION ABOUT AFROMAN (with information about the police raid that is the subject of Afroman's 2022 "Lemon Pound Cake" song and some other songs) From https://genius.com/artists/Afroman "Joseph Edgar Foreman (born July 28, 1974), known
professionally as Afroman, began writing songs and handing them out to his
friends on cassette while in the eighth grade. At 25 years old, he released his
first album, 1999’s Sell Your Dope. Soon after, he moved from LA to Mississippi
with the mission to ‘get away from competition and sell to actual people’,
releasing his sophomore album Because I Got High in 2000 on T-Bones Records.
Its title track, written hastily after a friend showed up and interrupted him
on an ambitious day and insisted they instead get high, was the last song he
had recorded for it. Soon after releasing one more album later that year,
Afroman left the music business.
At the same time, the file-sharing software Napster –
heavily used at the time to share and distribute music for free – was at its
peak of popularity, and the album’s title track became popular with its users.
Universal Records caught wind and signed Afroman to a six album deal and
released it as a single on July 6, 2001.
“Because I Got High” immediately became one of the
most-requested songs across the nation, growing even larger after syndicated
morning radio show host Howard Stern began airing it regularly, helping to make
it ‘the most requested song on the radio in the country’. Further boosting its
popularity was its inclusion in the film (and soundtrack to) Jay And Silent Bob
Strike Back and MTV’s eventual agreement to air a modified, less-controversial
music video for the song. It peaked at #13 in the US, and topped the charts in
ten countries overseas. Its album The Good Times reached #10 in the US.
Afroman performed across the US with Cypress Hill, Busta
Rhymes, Method Man and Redman in September and October on the
appropriately-titled Smoke Out Tour. The album’s second single “Crazy Rap”
reached the top 40 in five countries in early 2002, but failed to make an
impact in the US.
[…]
In 2022, while he was away from home, a drug raid by Ohio
police made the news after officers broke down the door with guns drawn and
rummaged through his belongings:
'They didn’t have to run up my driveway with AR-15’s and all
kinds of assault weapons. I would have gladly just given (the trace amounts of
weed, a vape pen and a jar of CBD they found) to them.'
Afroman would then speak about the experience, criticizing
the officers for the raid and for damaging his property. In response to the
raid, Afroman recorded songs such as “Will You Help Me Repair My Door,” “Lemon
Pound Cake,” and “Why You Disconnecting My Video Camera,” all of which would
earn their own music videos involving footage of the raid. He would even go as
far as to releasing the album Lemon Pound Cake on January 9, 2023. This would
result in a lawsuit from several Adams County officers in March 2023. After
three years, on March 18, 2026, a jury returned a full verdict in favor of
Afroman, clearing him from any civil damages against the officers." -snip- Click https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeYsTmIzjkw for Afroman's hit song "Because I Got High (Clean Version)" published by ogafroman, Oct 8, 2009 [total # of views as of March 24, 2026 , 10:45 AM DST=317,127,892]
"They raided his home, found nothing, then tried to flip it on him. It blew up in their face."
Pancocojams Editor's summary of that episode: This episode of Roland Martin Unfiltered focuses on Afroman's successful case against the police officers who raided his house with a warrant accusing him of drg trafficking and kidnapping, but dropped all of those charges. Those same police officers later sued Afroman for defamation when he recorded songs and videos about that raid.
This pancocojams post showcases a 2023 YouTube video of racism in Brazil that was produced and narrated by Ghanaian influencer Wode Maya.
This post also presented some comments from that video's discussion thread.
The content of this post is presented for historical and socio-cultural purposes.
All copyrights remain with their owners.
Thanks to Wode Maya and all those who are associated with this video. Thanks also to all those who are quoted in this post. **** SELECTED COMMENTS FROM THIS VIDEO'S DISCUSSION THREAD
1,@almonnirvana "WODE MAYA is a think-tank. He creates some of the videos
which you can never skip when YouTube suggests them to you. I've been exploring
the whole earth just sitting on my coach in Kenya. Keep on keeping on bro."
** 2. @tshepomoletsane9764 "Wode, your Kenyan co-host did a great job with this episode,
perhaps in bridging the gap we need affiliated content for Portuguese speaking
Afro-Nations both in continent and diaspora.
An ideal opportunity for her to explore and travel, it also
aligns with Pan-Africanism conversation and bridging the 6th region."
** 4.@Vincity1183 "I’m happy that a African brother like you are able to travel
the world & show people back in Africa the truth of how blacks are treated
outside of Africa & Europe welcome to this side of the world"
** 5.@alexbento7378 "As a black Brazilian who has lived in the United
States for 12 years, I see that black Brazilians have to learn some things that
black Americans did, they built their own structure of TV, radio, University,
schools and much more, I don't say that to to segregate but to show respect,
because here in Brazil white people respect black Americans a lot because they
recognize everything they have achieved, here in Brazil there is a lack of
black filmmakers to tell our stories in a beautiful way, where are the black
filmmakers in Brazil? We are a large black nation but we are still small in
purchasing power, you don't see engineers, doctors, or technology companies
with black people prominently featured.Black Americans are a reference of
success for the whole world, where in the world there are so many black people
on TV in the cinema, hundreds of hundreds of films, there has been a black
president, here in Brazil the only black person who is world famous was Pelรฉ
many years ago , without this we are invisible in the world, and in Colombia
does anyone know? There is no comparison between the United States and the
world reference .Today I live in Brazil and I see the big difference between
black people in the United States and the rest of the world"
** 6.@ashleychemise "I'm watching this as a Black American woman and it's sad,
not surprising, I, too have experienced racism...In times past I've wondered
how many African families were ripped away from each other during the
transatlantic slave trade when some Africans were sent to South America while
others were sent to North America...I feel them...I am them. Great video Wode
Maya๐๐พ❤️"
** 7.@YouTubeBlueButterflies "I'm African American and I have distant
family in the Caribbean and my heritage in the "new world" started in
Barbados"
** 8.@FierceLeo "Colorism, light skin and dark skin is an
issue every where, no matter the hair texture or not. The old Willie Lynch strategy to keep slaves
divided. Right ?"
** 9. @Lady1M365 "Thank you for the education we would
never get in schools. They have been on a mission here in the US to eliminate
the history of slavery in our schools. Keep going Wode Maya. I appreciate you.❤"
** 10. @georgehosea139 "I think that black people have to learn to love each other,
be there for each other, empower each other through education and training and
learn to be self reliant and hard working. With such virtues they will be able
to uplift their lives and if necessary live in their own communities and run
their own lives. This is a very enlightening vlog Wode Maya keep them coming, I
pray for the equality of all races in the world, because we are indeed equal,
is humanity. ๐ "
** 11. @AliveBlessedGrateful "I traveled to Brazil in 2002 as a volunteer with Habitat for
Humanity and I was shocked to encounter racism there. One dude walked up to our
group and started talking to us. He said he’s not black, he’s not African. I
just stared blankly and thought… why’d he even say that? ๐คฃ
Secondly… dude was darker than me talkin bout he’s not black ๐คฆ๐ฝ♀️๐"
** 12. @tshepomaph8201 "Brazil has so many similarities with my country South Africa
๐ฟ๐ฆ
where there is always a concerted effort to keep economic activity and
opportunities only within white communities, Which is the main reason for
racial inequalities in these countries."
** 13. @kingkweku9761 "I was in Sao Paolo in 2012 and i can
truly say that the people are one of the nicest in the world...very
diversell!!! beautiful city, very friendly people and you can literally ask
anyone on the streets for help with anything ....i personally didnt experience
any racism and i was there only a few weeks so i cant speak for everyone but i
felt at home and will definitely visit again"
** Reply 14.@Omar-kl3xp "I think racism in Brazil is more
systematic and institutional, the people might be nice but the government is
making sure that the black population in Brazil remain poor"
** Reply 15. @Boomarrang "Great elaboration. Because what he asked
only meant direct racism from human to human. But Systemic racism where the
system is set up to oppress or restrict the black people is strong. Because you
cannot really point a finger at it or describe it clearly because it is
intertwined in the system. It is a silent racism. It is in the West as well. It
exists in the UK more than the direct racism so I can relate to what to mean."
** Reply 16. @lammuri "
@Boomarrang yes, UK indeed. A UN Human Rights Expert Group visited the UK and
described the country as structurally, systemically and institutionally racist.
The Conservative Government denied it."
** Reply 17. @segundent3680 "Structural racism - where every floor
gets whiter the closer you go to the top."
** Reply 18. @felityf1 "Exactly, the Black people in Brazil is
only now, in the present generation, getting go to universities."
** 19. @dcbelle01 "Loving your coverage of Brazil, Maya!! ๐ง๐ท
I notice that you are asking people to recall moments of racism. While these
moments do exist… and often, I challenge you to think of racism as systems. In
places like Brazil and here in the US, the exception of racist incidents is
what many point to to say that it doesn’t exist. Structural racism - education,
healthcare, housing, etc. is the most brutal form. Keep doing what you are
doing, dear brother! ❤️๐ค๐
** 20. @justinkatangila5417 "We have been divided by the distance for so long but
grounded by the roots called black ❤️
I love you more my people❤️"
** 21. @belvedere92 "That young lady on the train who says she feels lost as an
Afro-Brazilian is totally understood by me. I lived for many years in the USA
and in my conversation with Afro-Brazilians they tell me that there very few
organizations that cater to organizing Afro-Brazilians culturally or
functionally with respect to things like quality of schools, demanding
government actions in their areas, etc., etc. So yes you will feel lost in such
situations."
** Reply 22. @gildahernandez3557 "So sad but it’s the story of our Black
history all over the world.. The only way our people become aware of our
plight, is through education… if we
don’t know who we are, we won’t know where we are going…I have learn so much of
our history within the past 10 years, simply because of self interest….The
greatest self inflected wound upon ourself, is ignorance… Life is Spiritual… ๐คท๐ฝ♀️๐๐๐ฝ๐๐๐ฝ๐๐๐ฝ๐๐๐ฝ"
** 23. @elizamasilva502 "I'm a black Brazilian living in the UK. The experience
within the Brazilian community here where I live feels like an extension of
life in Brazil, but not all for the good reasons..
I often hire people to help me with cleaning/ironing at
home.
It gets interesting every time it happens to be a white Brazilian because
they are the only people to volunteer information of what they used to do/be in
Brazil. Some seem so ashamed and misplaced by cleaning for me I almost feel
sorry for their struggle.
These aren't bad or unpleasant people just normal friendly
hardworking white Brazilians which means it doesn't take a horrible person to
be that way.
I believe it was not up to them how those beliefs formed
foundation in their minds given that it's learned the moment you come into the
world.
BUT, it is up to each
person to shine a light on those beliefs and be brave enough to acknowledge
their racism.
Own it. Then change it."
** 24. @kerry-annwatson6104 "very insightful...I didn't know that
racism was so prevalent in Brazil. I was moved by the words of the young lady
who said that every day she fears for her life and the lives of her family
members. I'm from Jamaica and I've also lived in the Bahamas. I have not
traveled extensively nor have I been exposed to some of the atrocities that
have been meted out to other people of African descent/ancestry(on the merit of
one believing that he is superior to the other) so I cannot relate to the
narratives that are being told. I am in awe! This touches me to the core.
Thanks for enlightening us, Wode Maya. I can't wait to meet you in Jamaica."
** 25. @afiganyo5678 "I am Ghanaian-American and have been
studying Brazilian Portuguese for 4 years and I just came back from Sao Paulo
(my first trip to Brazil). I definitely felt the racism.
It wasn't the kind of racism I feel in
parts of Europe where people have never seen blacks before. It was more a
situation where people were confused why I was where I was and why I looked
like an entitled person with money. It
made me think of how America was before the civil rights movement.
The fact that they took so much black
culture and then discard black people is tragic and I have a mixed feeling
about going there. I will definitely go again but now my eyes are opened."
** 26. @DolphineAchonga-gn6kn "I agree with the young lady. Being
taught that Brazil is color blind keeps them from tackling racial issues head
on and demanding for institutional changes. However, Afro community also failed
to build global networks and invest in each other. That's something to learn
from Jewish and Irish communities who were once just as hated and looked down
on. The fact that the mother continent itself has leaders who refuse to build
it for the better creates an unfair perception of Afro peoples everywhere. Not
all Europeans, are smart. Not all Chinese or Japanese are smart. Not all Jews
are billionaires. But their mother countries' economic successes creates a halo
effect that accords them the esteem of others everywhere they go. We celebrate
individuals but also judge them as part of a community. It's the animalistic
part of us that we'll probably never outgrow no matter how advanced human
society becomes. The day Africa climbs from the bottom of the global ladder
it'll automatically buy esteem, for all Afro peoples everywhere. So do your
best wherever you are to give a good reflection of your peoples. Build networks
and push each other to succeed intellectually and economically."
** 27.@Keesha "Lived in Sรฃo Paulo for about 3 years as a NYC transplant and
I loved it…. I stayed close to Ave Paulista and it often felt like I was back
home in Manhattan. Brazilians are beautiful people ❤️.
As a black woman though, I was treated very differently from locals, though we
looked the same. The minute I opened my mouth and they hear English I get
received differently. It’s sad because even your own black
people are racist to each other , but it is the heritage of a former slave
state and colonial society."
** Reply 28. @SilVia-hs2kb "You were treated differently because you're American and
therefore your social status changed in their minds. That will happen anywhere
even in Europe. Being Black American gives you immediate upgrade. This has
little to do with color and all to do with money or persecption of higher
financial status."
** Reply 29. @anndeecosita3586 "@SilVia-hs2kb I
agree. Most places I go they don’t assume I’m American based on looks because
I’m not white. But once they realize I’m American the whole dynamic changes. I
have seen people be very disrespectful to poor locals while kissing my ass
because I’m American because they figure I have money. This makes me
uncomfortable. That’s I typically primarily speak Spanish when I go to
countries where English isn’t the primary language unless I am traveling with
someone who only speaks English. When I went to Peru, most probably assumed I
was Brazilian."
** Reply 30. @FindYourFree "Spent some years and Bahia and SP with my kids and returning
to SP to live soon. They always said the
$$$ whitens you in Brazil and I saw this to be true"
** Reply 31. @FierceLeo. "Are we taking about racism or prejudice?"
** Reply 32. @robertkessel8184, 2024 "@FierceLeo. Racism is the cause of prejudice. So we are talking of both."
** Reply 33. @DC-dudu "No it's not. I've been to 20+ African countries. Black
people are racist against each other ( different ethnicities) and against other
races. To blame it on a already extinct colonial state is just to give an
excuse. There should be no excuse for any type of racism."
** Reply 34.@lammuri " @DC-dudu you are talking about tribalism and classism not
racism."
**
35.@chinatownboy7482 "@ashleychemise What can we do moving forward? We know the history. We can't change the past. We can craft and shape the future."
** Reply 36.@ashleychemise "@chinatownboy7482 I'm not sure of your ethnicity, but judging by your name if
you are Chinese you start by calling out present day racism in your culture and openly standing against
injustice for Black/African people. Since you referenced the present tense,
remember, North and South African Americans are not in power on a dominant
level... it takes those on a dominant level to be brave and fight along side of
us. We are the only group that can not easily go back to "family in our
homeland". So much more I could say...I'm tired and will no longer post on
this thread."
** 37.@HendrikMaison "I was in Brazil just 3 weeks ago, i went to Sao Paulo and
then Salvador, and in less than 48 hrs i was able to recognize the racism
immediately and i was very sad. I lost all my joy for Brazil i had for brazil,
I loved Brazilian soccer. To see afro
Brazillians living in such a state I was so hurt. It made me appreciate what
African Americans have done for black people. The struggle to fight for
freedom. As a born African living in the United States, I have come to cherish
the African-American struggle for justice and economic justice. Going to Brazil
told me how far back the black man in Brazil is, he is told to accept his
position and never question it because he or she is lucky to be Brazilian."
I commented that I felt better in Europe, where I was
treated better than in Brazil, but people don't understand. I came here in
1987, to free my mind and also to help my mother who was sick. I was able to
buy medicines, food and pay condominium fees with the money I received. My
sister was able to stay at home helping my mother.
It's very hard for you to live so unhappy, especially when
you live in the only country you know. Many Africans are not aware of what
racism is."
** Reply 39. @learningtheworld.5255, 2024 "Yours is a very good comment. I am a black Cuban. I am
seeking a nice destination to relocate as a black person, and I was actually
thinking about Brazil. But this video only made me realize even more what I
already was kind of suspecting, how far behind black people are in Brazil. Way
farther behind than in Cuba.
I am nearly ruling out Brasil."
** Reply 40. @donramonn12, 2024 " @learningtheworld.5255 yes,. Brazil is very racist.Europe is a
better choice."
** Reply 41. @acilenecardoso7330, 2024 "@learningtheworld.5255 Brazil is one of the countries with the
lowest rates of racism in the world."
** Reply 42. @andy-wz1fi, 2024 "As a black brazilian, this is true and it comes from years
of what we call "embranquecimento" (whitening) of the population.
Contrary to what happened in the US, in Brasil the way white people found to
discriminate was trying to make black people mix with the white population and
therefore lose its identity. It worked very well, many lightskin black
brazilians believe they are not black, there's hardly any idea of belonging to
our race, this was substituted by the feeling of being brazilian, which often
lacks the political aspect of being black and ignores the cultural and
socialeconomical differences of being a black brazilian."
** Reply 43.@dondadaa404, 2025 "@andy-wz1fi other Latin American countries practice the
same thing."
** Reply 44.@difenix1, 2026 "@andy-wz1fi deixa de mimimi que jรก tรก ficando chato, o
branco casa com a negra o negro casa com a Branca o japonรชs casa com a Branca
com a negra e assim vai Isso รฉ Brasil Se vocรช quer a segregaรงรฃo vocรช sofrerรก as
consequรชncias das suas escolhas aqui รฉ Brasil somos todos mestiรงos e Vida que
Segue quem quiser se dividir em grupos que se divide mas nรฃo chore as
consequรชncias nรฃo reclame." -snip- Google translate from Portuguese (Brazilian) to English: "@andy-wz1fistop whining, it's getting annoying. White
people marry black people, black people marry white people, Japanese people
marry white people, black people, and so on. This is Brazil. If you want
segregation, you will suffer the consequences of your choices. This is Brazil,
we are all mixed-race, and life goes on. Whoever wants to divide into groups,
let them divide, but don't cry about the consequences, don't complain"
** Reply 45.@DJM-new52, 2024 "@Junseld
Not entirely true. Many of our ancestors were not slaves
already in Africa. Most enslaved people were prisoners of war in the many
conflicts between African kingdoms and empires. That is how slavery worked in
most places from the beginning. People war on each other and either kill them,
drive them out, or enslave them. Anyone could be enslaved from royalty,
priests, nobles, warriors (POW’s most commonly) all the way down to commoners.
There was slavery in Africa but it was not the completely dehumanizing chattel
slavery which was practiced in the Americas by the Europeans colonial powers
such as Portugal, Spain, England/UK, France, and The Netherlands. In Africa,
you could at least have a chance to work yourself out of it and not have it
follow down your family line multigenerationally even though there still is a
certain stigma attached to it. It was more akin to indentured servitude. I am
of both Fulani and Yoruba descent. The Fulani made war on many other African
ethnic groups in the name of Islam and the Yoruba kingdoms such as Oyo Empire
warred with Dahomey and sometimes the Ashanti Empire. They both took slaves
from their defeated enemies as did the Romans did with the Celts, Germanics,
Greeks and many other European ethnic groups as well as the aforementioned
Europeans warring on each other. Even
after 250 plus of that, Black Americans became a new people composed of the
descendants of those captured and enslaved Africans that were former enemies as
well as our enslavers and the indigenous peoples of the Americas. No one is
claiming to be the sole recipient of ill treatment nor are we feeling sorry for
ourselves. If we talk about slavery,
it’s to address the ripple effect of that foul institution that
continues to impact us as a people. We are still fighting even if it’s not as
openly as in the 1960’s. If we had not,most of the rights we and many others
now benefit from have in America would not exist. If people truly knew the real
story about Black American as well as African history you would have a different
perspective."
** Reply 46. @dpeasehead, 2025 "@HendrikMaison: Thank you for being honest and for sharing
your observations. A lot of people are blinded to the endemic anti-black racism
by Latin American color blind multi-racial propaganda. White supremacy is white
supremacy no matter which part of the Americas it resides in and it is always
toxic to black people. A lot of outsiders don't like the more aggressive
approach of black Americans in the US when it comes to confronting anti-black
racism and white privilege but the Latin American "alternative" of
being in a state of permanent subjugation while living in a perpetual state of
denial is not at all appealing."
** 47.@koimt6732 "I keep commenting on it. I'm Brazilian and I feel better in
Europe than at home.
I want to come and live in Africa, but I don't know where I
come from and if the Africans will accept me as an African. We have a suffering
that never goes away. It’s horrible what colonialism did to our ancestors and
to us."
** Reply 48. @texvor6949 "You should go to Popo Aguda in Lagos nigeria. Its the
settlement where a lot of Afro brazilians went to after slavery ended and left
brazil to go or return to Africa. Many of their descendants are still there."
** Reply 49. @koimt6732 "@texvor6949 Oh
thank you. I just finished watching a video about Popo Aguda and immediately
felt at home. I got so emotional.You helped me a lot."
** Reply 50. @texvor6949 "@koimt6732 No problem and good luck. Maybe you can
become a bridge and reconnection to Popo Aguda and those of Afro Brazil. That
will be your peoples gateway to the motherland by using the same path those of
the afro brasilians ancestors crossed to create a home back in africa."
** 51.@moa5351 [In the] "Bahia province of Brazil
they still use a lot of Yoruba words like Acaraje, efรณ and still practice
Yoruba traditional religion worshipping deities like exu, sango, yemoja and
osun."...
** 52. @faithbiyapo9297 "Charity begins at home. Nobody will love and accept us, when
we haven’t loved and accepted ourselves. Until we put pride, ego, religion,
greed, social class, tribalism, etc away and embrace each other as brothers and
sisters, nothing will ever change. Every negative thing we do to one another
devalues us as a group. Our leaders sell us out. We’ve got no infrastructure,
quality education, enabling business environments to create jobs and innovation
for the young. How can we be valued by outsiders? Everything starts with us. It
is well. Peace and love to all! Keep up the great work, Maya!"
** 53.@SechabaLSA "As someone who grew up in Lesotho ๐ฑ๐ธ
, a country with more than 98% black people and one tribe, I have a huge fesr
of relocating to a place where I'll suddenly become a minority. My most comfortable countries that I've lived
in are South Africa ๐ฟ๐ฆ, and Botswana ๐ง๐ผ . I don't think I'm brave
enough to relocate anywhere besides South Africa, Botswana, eSwatini and Zambia"
** 54.@PHlophe "I am half eSwatini . I was born and
raised in the EU so, if you are born a minority it is part of your life.
i am biracial . I
love being in the african continent as i have family there . I am comfortable
identifying myself as a Black male. my
favorite african nation is Angola although Kenya comes close second"
** 55.@gerrytushh "Good and informative video. I visited
Rio de Janeiro city Brazil and just a few hundred meters behind my 5 star beach
high-rise hotel was a huge favelas (slum) with so many people packed in tiny
shacks ....it was so sad ๐ข"
** 56.@Layla-fr7mf "Racism in Brazil is so real and I
experienced it visiting Brazil already seated on the plane on my way to Rio
with my husband as being one of the only Africans/black people on the plane
there and back because the Afro Brazilians are so marginalised they cannot even
afford to leave the county or a plane ticket.
We stayed in an area called Leblon and
after that Ipanema.
Sadly, we were the only non
Europeans/Caucasians in most of the restaurants and at the residences in these
areas.
The stares from the Europeans were so
blatantly rude until they would hear us speak English and realise that we were
tourists which was already a guess because of the fact that we were eating at
these restaurants and staying in such areas. They would feel so emboldened to
treat non Europeans with disdain which seems rooted in the culture I could tell
that the Afro Brazilians as majority are definitely abused and marginalised to
the extreme.
We would be amongst the only black
people at most of the restaurants in many of these areas such Ipanema, Leblon,
Lagoa and such as if the Afro Brazilians also accept that they should not be
seen at certain restaurants while we made sure to book an experience to learn
about the history of Afro Brazilians with an Afro Brazilian who took us to
different neighbourhoods and explained the history of the black people, the
racism and places like Leblon that were known to be “wealthy” areas that
purposely kept the black population far away from these areas unless they are
in nearby favelas or working in restaurants or hotels or as maids.
It is expected but sadly there are no
laws to fight that kind of discrimination that is extreme in Brazil unlike
other nations. It is still slave like in nature with slavery still taking place
in remote areas so we as Africans need to be a safe haven to many of our own
people. It is the only way."
** 57.@KillahManjaro "15:27. That old lady say she only
experienced racism twice. it's so normalized that she doesn't recognize racism.
People confuse prejudice with racism.
When African Americans were marching in the 50s-'60s, they weren't marching for
white people to stop calling them names or like them, or care how white people
feel about them, they were marching for access to resources of the society,
Education, Jobs, Freedom of movement without harm, Bank Loans, Houses, etc. all
things required to accumulate power and be competitive in the USA like all
groups.
It's the same in brazil. The black
population doesn't control anything in the society to accumulate power. if you have power you don't care or think
about what people say about you."
** Reply 58. @afrakanaswahilitv5520 "It looks like you don't understand
racism in America. It's institutionalized in away that it's very difficult to
break through. It's in colleges, police, judiciary, and even in simple stuff
like public transportation. Imagine most of the jobs are in the suburbs and
first bus to get to the suburb leaves the city at 8am while those from the
suburbs to the city starts at 4:30am. Majority of the black people live in the
city and you have to be at work by 7:45am. So technically if you can't own and
finance a car you will have hard to make it"
** 59. @stevenolasite9644 "Wode Maya, you make it sound like it’s
all uhuru here in Africa.
I am Nigerian and I can say
categorically that there is discrimination and xenophobia in Africa. South
Africans kill their black brothers from other countries under the excuse that
they are taking over their land.
As Ghanaian, I am sure you recall the
“Ghana-must-go” saga, when Nigeria sent Ghanaians out of Nigeria in the early
1980s.
The genocide in Rwanda wasn’t
perpetrated by white people.
In Nigeria, there’s the ethnic rivalry
between the Yorubas, Ibos and the Hausas. No Ibo man has been President of
Nigeria since 1966! In some families, they forbid their children from marrying
from other tribes.
The more I think about this, the more I
find facts that support the notion that evil is innate in humanity, and you
will find discrimination everywhere you find human beings.
If these Africans in diaspora starts
trouping to Africa en masse, I can assure you that it will lead to another
conflict/discrimination between the locals and the new arrivals."
** 60.@Ivan-f7, 2024 "No no no... I'm 47 years old, I'm a
native Brazilian and I can say that this video does not convey the reality of
our people, there is prejudice against poor people, not against ethnic groups,
very little."
** Reply 61. @florbella2213 "infelizmente, existe racismo no Brasil."
-snip-
Google translate from Portuguese (Brazilian) to English:
"Unfortunately, there is racism in
Brazil".
** Reply 62.@isobel95, 2024 "You're part of the old generation who
always learned and taught we live in a racial democracy.
How can you say that when the Yanomamis
are left to die by the previous government?
How can you say that when CAPOEIRA WAS A
CRIME until less than 100 years ago. Like, people were getting arrested just
for practicing Capoeira only because it
was a black cultural element.
Capoeira saiu do Cรณdigo Penal em
1930!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Nรฃo faz nem 100 anos e pessoas eram de fato presas
pelo ESTADO BRASILEIRO por praticar capoeira. ร o Estado mostrando o prรณprio
racismo.
Consegue entender o racismo estrutural
que existe desde o inรญcio da escravidรฃo? A escravidรฃo acabou mas a mente das
pessoas continuou a mesma atรฉ pouco tempo atrรกs. Agora, falando sobre racismo,
poderรญamos tentar curar essa ferida. Mas, tem que reconhecer o crime e essa
ferida. Fingir que o Brasil nรฃo รฉ racista รฉ por uma venda para nรฃo ver os
prรณprios problemas.
Entรฃo, NรO FALE que nรฃo existe
preconceito contra grupos รฉtnicos, pelo amor de deus!!" -snip- Google translate from Portuguese (Brazilian) to English:
..."How can you say that when the Yanomami
were left to die by the previous government?
How can you say that when Capoeira was a
crime until less than 100 years ago? Like, people were getting arrested just
for practicing Capoeira only because it was a Black cultural element.
Capoeira was removed from the Penal Code
in 1930!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It hasn't even been 100 years and people were
actually arrested by the Brazilian State for practicing Capoeira. It's the
State showing its own racism.
Can you understand the structural racism
that has existed since the beginning of slavery? Slavery ended, but people's
minds remained the same until recently. Now, talking about racism, we could try
to heal this wound. But, we have to acknowledge the crime and this wound.
Pretending that Brazil isn't racist is like putting on a blindfold to avoid
seeing our own problems.
So, for God's sake, DON'T say that
prejudice against ethnic groups doesn't exist!!"
** 63. @groovdiva9417 "@wodemaya what you said at 12:35 made me
cry. I have never heard someone from West Africa say this & it was like the
healing of a wound I never knew I had. I have had many friends from all over
the diaspora, and I have also had a few foes who made fun of me & my family
with the same ugly stereotypes created by American propagandists such as DW
Griffith, Ronald Reagan, Joseph McCarthy, Al Jolson, & many more. It felt
worse, more like betrayal, to hear those ugly stereotypes from someone who looks
like my family. I know the history of who-sold-who is not as simple as “you
betrayed us, & that’s it,” especially in Angola, but it still felt powerful
to hear you acknowledge the role of our Continental family, even under the
duress of continued colonial pressure in the economies & cultures of former
colonies.
I, among many, cannot wait until healing"
** 64. @SilvioSamuge "Amazing video. I think you just inspired
me as a Mozambican (we speak Portuguese in here) to dedicate comments to
educate the Brazilian nation and empower them with knowledge. Thank you brother"
** 65.@Jqzd3000 "Dont have a victim mentally wise words
from the elder woman. If you believe you are a victim you will always be and
die has a victim."
** 66.@nazsolomon8164 "I visited Brazil for a month earlier
this year (2023), and sadly, i can confirm that Brazil is indeed a very unequal
country. There are a lot of lovely people there but there aren't enough
opportunities for them to change their lives. Also, sadly most of those people
are either black, mixed or indigenous.
I visited the US straight after that and
was blown away by the freedom and abundance of opportunities that were
available there."
** 67. @afiganyo5678 "I am Ghanaian-American and have been
studying Brazilian Portuguese for 4 years and I just came back from Sao Paulo
(my first trip to Brazil). I definitely felt the racism.
It wasn't the kind of racism I feel in
parts of Europe where people have never seen blacks before. It was more a
situation where people were confused why I was where I was and why I looked
like an entitled person with money. It
made me think of how America was before the civil rights movement.
The fact that they took so much black
culture and then discard black people is tragic and I have a mixed feeling
about going there. I will definitely go again but now my eyes are opened."
** 68.@WeAreInXanadu1969, 2024 "This is so disheartening.
I had NO idea it was like this in Brazil. I thought Black people there were running
things and more successful than African Americans. I just didn’t realize how they are treated
and that they’re so far behind. Very sad
to hear this as I feel like they are the majority there."
**** 2024
69.@dorothysiaw-lartey2889 "Whitening also happened in Argentina too.
** 70. @LuisClaudioTheTagarela "I am a Black Brazilian, not an Afro-Brazilian—this is just
my perspective, of course. I acknowledge that my ancestors came from Africa.
It's important to note that not all Black Brazilians, or Black people in
general, share the same viewpoint.
Due to my job, I lived in Haiti for two years and in Angola
for three years, where I experienced discrimination in both countries.
Discrimination exists even in countries where Black people are the majority. I
have traveled to all continents except Antarctica, and I've found that there is
no place on Earth where Black people are not discriminated against—though the
extent of discrimination varies from place to place."
** Reply 71.@chigozienwankwo234 "The context of discrimination you "experienced" in
Haiti and Angola should be analysed. I live in Africa and I don't believe, you
will be discriminated against the same way a white person can discriminate
against a black person"
** Reply 72. @arlenecharles8762, 2025 "@chigozienwankwo234 I
was born in Birmingham uk my parents were from the West Indies, I went on
holiday with my Son who was Five at the time we were on holiday in Barbados
went to a posh restaurant the black door man did not want us in the restaurant."
** Reply 73.@renslinemerv8338 "hi i am Haitian, i am curious to know what happened to you
in Haiti, because they might mistaken
you for a Haitian, im not saying nothjing happen to you, i kow my country. but
htings like that happen to only us , no foreigners"
** Reply 74. @LuisClaudioTheTagarela "@renslinemerv8338 I entered a shop in Pentionville, not sure
about the sorry, but If you're Haitian you know what I am talking about. I was
not well dressed, I was coming from a football game. The lady said to me what
you are doing here it's not a place for you and you can't afford to buy
anything here anyway, I said, excuse me, then she realized I wasn't Haitian. Is
it discrimination or not?"
** Reply 75. @LuisClaudioTheTagarela "@renslinemerv8338 I am black, and if I keep my mouth shut it's
difficult to know which nationality I am. The point is, they should not
discriminate against anybody, including Haitians."
** Reply 76. @SherilynPeters "I totally understand. I no longer describe myself as Afro.
Either i am black caribbean and refuse to call myself Afro. I live in the UK
and was told by Africans that Carribbean people are not Africans and they need to stop callibg themselves what
they are not. The first time i was told, i ignored it. But when i was told
numerous times i stopped๐ข"..
** Reply 77. @saintsrown "In Brasil, we call Afro Brazilians:
Brazilians."
** Reply 78.@nolife2325, 2026 "While simultaneously looking down at
them as lesser which is why I’ll take US racism any day compared to the Latin
America type. At least there isn’t this veil of “racial harmony” which is
really a caste system that makes it difficult for pretos to unite and talk
about the rampant racism ๐ "
** 79. @AleneHill-l2f "We are in the US California, not far from Los Angeles. I would love to see Copacabana Beach, Recife, and Salvador. We are large Carribean families from Trinidad and Barbados; and color plays a big part in the social light. In India, the darker Indians are very poor. Alot of poor Brazilians live in the favelas, the Caribbean, parts of Europe and in the US. You see it in commercials, music videos, magazines, etc. Whenever one goes in this world; try to engage the positive and discard the negative like garbage. Life is short for us๐๐ฅฅ
**** 2025
80. @primeiroultimo1726 "I was born and lived in Brazil until I was 18. I have lived in Portugal for 21 years and here I have not suffered a tenth of the racism that I suffered in Brazil. However, I still do not feel like I belong anywhere. I am very inspired by this movement of the diaspora returning to the Motherland and I hope to one day achieve this goal."
** 81. @NewsWithNicola "Reminded that Brazil was the largest importer of enslaved
Africans and the last country to finally stop."
** Reply 82. @0900370pian, 2026 "If you are talking about Latin America and the entire
Western Hemisphere, then Brazil was the last country to abolish slavery in
1888. But the last country to abolish slavery was Mauritania. Slavery in
Mauritania was only officially abolished in 1981, and it was criminalized as
late as 2007. So, between 1981 until 2007 owning a human slave was technically
not illegal."
** 83. @BRUSEMISSIONTRAVEL "13:19 Yes, Ghana was one country that
made an official apology for its participation in the slave trade. Ghana has
done more than any other African country to bridge that gap. It’s not perfect
but the effort is appreciated. ๐ค๐ค๐ค
This pancocojams post showcases a comment from a December 2025 One54Africa YouTube podcast entitled "Black Brits vs Black Americans". That post corrects part of the Foundational Black Americans (FBA) position that people of Black Caribbean descent didn't contribute to Black American history and culture.
The content of this post is presented for history and socio-cultural purposes.
All copyrights remain with their owners.
Thanks to the commenter who is quoted in this post and thanks to YouTube's One54Africa podcast for providing a forum for these types of discussions.
**** SUMMARY OF THIS PODCAST AND ITS DISCUSSION THREAD The name "One54 Africa" refers to the fact that the one continent of Africa has 54 nations.
Here's part of the summary of this podcast. :
"One54, hosted by Akbar and Godfrey, is a first of its kind podcast spotlighting the untold stories of African entertainers, athletes and business leaders. Through unfiltered conversations, this podcxast reveals the challenges and culture clashes of growing up African in America."
-end of quote-
Here's my overview of this One 54Africa episode and the discussion sub-thread that this showcase comment is part of:
:
This podcast episode focuses on whether Black Britons or any other Black people such as Black people from the Caribbean and Black Africans should be casts in theater, television, or movie roles as historical or fictional African Americans or should those roles be reserved for African Americans.
In addition to that subject, the comment that is showcased in this pancocojams post debunks the FBA (Foundational Black American) belief that the only contributors to "Black United States history and culture were Black people who were enslaved in the United States and their descendants. According to FBA*, this population doesn't include any people of Black Caribbean descent.
Therefore, according to FBA, the only people who are FBA should be eligible for movie, television, or theater acting roles that portray FBA people (i.e. the population that is still widely referred to as "African Americans".
****
WHAT DOES FBA MEAN?
Here's my brief overview of FBA (Foundational Black American) :
"FBA" isn't an organization but is a lineage based designation that is increasingly used in Black American social media and in other Black frequented online spaces, particularly in Black American social media..
According to FBA spokespersons such as its 2021 founder Tariq Nasheed, the referent "African American" should no longer be used and should be replaced with "Foundational Black American".
"Foundational Black American" refers to a Black person who can trace their lineage to one or more ancestors who were enslaved in the United States. Black people whose ancestors were enslaved in the Caribbean or in South America aren't FBA).Also, Black people from Africa or Europe aren't FBAs.
Furthermore, FBA believe that Black people who aren't FBA (based on that definition) have a different lineage, history, and culture from FBAs. One derogatory referent that FBAs use for those non-FBA Black Americans, particularly those who came to the United States after World War II is "tether". "Tether" is used particularly used by proponents of FBA as a slur for Black people and their descendants who fled their homelands in the Caribbean, Africa, or elsewhere to emigrate to the United States.
Click https://pancocojams.blogspot.com/2024/10/what-word-tether-means-to-foundational.html"What The Word "Tether" Means To Foundational Black Americans (FBAs)" for more information on this subject.
*Full disclosure: I use the referents "African American" and Black (Black American).
According to the FBA definition given above, I would not be considered a FBA because I can't trace my ancestry to someone who was enslaved in the United States (My father who adopted in Michigan and I don't know his biological roots and my mother's parents are from Tobago and Barbados). Furthermore, I very much disagree with the positions that are held by Tariq Nasheed and other FBA spokespersons
**** SHOWCASE COMMENT
Black British people are not buying up land that black
Americans own
You don't even own the job
But you are upset because someone from somewhere else can do
it better
Trying to cut down the competition
FBA culture ain't even FBA culture and you ask people from
New York
Is this American culture
They will tell you no
They ain't rocking with that Tariq nasheed BS
This is Bronx or wherever culture
Remember half of black British people are Carribbeans
We have cousins in the Bronx
My grandad died in the Bronx
We talk to these people
East coast
West coast
The West coast maybe FBA culture
But that east coast stuff is not FBA at all
Biggie
DJ KOOL herc
Lil Kim
Foxy brown
Cardi B
Nicki
All the stuff that are popular now
Is not American stuff
I don't know why these people won't acknowledge the
Carribbean people who made waves in your community
Acting Sidney
First black man to win was a Bahamian
Slick rick
MF Doom
This FBA stuff is so ahistorical it's crazy and Nigerians
and Africans like to push this stuff because they want Carribbean people out of
the picture
Put as a Carribbean
I'm not letting Americans run wild with this
I'm going to keep you straight when your ego gets out of
line
You FBAs are wilding
Go do research on the civil rights movement
Harry Belafonte
Frantz Fanon
Kwame Tru
You'll see numerous Carribbean leaders
Of course they helped as the Carribbean are just a
collection of Islands right next to America
No beef Africans
It's just proximity
Maya Angelou was part Trinidadian
Collin Powell
Half of Mike Tyson
Floyd Mayweather grandfather
Every step of the way when there has been 10 African
Americans saying no
There has been 2 Carribbeans saying
"Nah man, don't let em talk to you like that"
Again sorry Africans
We came out of slavery in the mid 1800's
100 years later a civil rights movement
That is one life time
There just wasn't much time
Africans only start leaving Africa in the 1980s in any
meaningful way
The war in Nigeria and a war in Somalia
20 years later 2000
Everything is basically present history
An you notice most Afro Canadians are Carribbean
That's why drake is always doing dancehall
And half of the black British
To places in the British empire
Why am I teaching a history lesson
Do some research"
**** Which other people of Caribbean descent can you think of who contribute (contributed) to African American culture but aren't mentioned in this comment?
Which Black British people can you think of who contribute (contributed) to African American culture?
“I get a lot of slack from Nigerians for not being a real
Nigerian.” – Nigerian American comedian/actor] Godfrey [Daneschmah]
[…]
One54, hosted by Akbar and Godfrey, is a first of its kind
podcast spotlighting the untold stories of African entertainers, athletes and
business leaders. Through unfiltered conversations, this podcxast reveals the
challenges and culture clashes of growing up African in America."...
**** Edited by Azizi Powell
This pancocojams post showcases a Dec, 2025 YouTube podcast and presents selected comments from that podcast about the meanings and uses of the Yoruba (Nigeria) word "akata".
Some of these comments include the newly coined acronym "FBA" (Foundational Black Americans) and its definition of the English language word "tether".
The content of this post is presented for historical and socio-cultural purposes.
**** SELECTED COMMENTS ABOUT THE WORD "AKATA" FROM THIS PODCAST'S DISCUSSION THREAD
(Numbers are given to these comments for referencing purposes only)
December 2025
1.@live.life.on.purpose "1:33 mark. Nigerians are jealous of those who made it out
of Nigeria. Got it."
** Reply 2. @kevinanith2713, February 2026 "jealous of what๐"
** Reply 3. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@kevinanith2713ask the jealous Nigerians"
** Reply 4. @helenodiah9420, March 2026 "@kevinanith2713exactly. Naija we do not envy eachother. We
celebrate ourselves"
** 5. @nahnotatall4291 "4:15 = AKATA moment"
** Reply 6. @AmeriNiiji1983, January 2026 "Godfrey spoke on Africans especially from his country xenophobia"
** Reply 7. @helenodiah9420, March 2026 " @AmeriNiiji1983 he spoke on South African. Nigeria has no xenophobia. We welcome. People say we are too welcoming. Get your story straight."
** Reply 8.@Blackhaze3000, March 2026 "Attitudes like that was why African countries and many other
black nations will never grow. Too busy judging and fighting with other black
people who might be different from them instead of fighting with those other
folks who are robbing ya’ll of your resources."
** Reply 9 @helenodiah9420, March 2026 "@Blackhaze3000 Akata was never meant for Americans. It was for Africans who left the country and came back after many years. It simply means. "Wild cat" it is not that serious. My friends call me "Akata " whenever I return home and we just laugh and merry. You guys ruined it on the US by spreading lies that it is a slur. Is "black panther" a slur. Since when?"
** Reply 10. @helenodiah9420, February 2026 "This term was originally intended for Nigerians
who have returned to their home country and exhibit altered behaviors. My own
siblings use this term with me, and it is not indicative of jealousy. Rather,
it reflects a change in accent that has occurred due to living abroad.
"Akata" translates to "Wild cat," similar to a black
panther. It is not meant to be taken seriously. The dissemination of
misinformation in America, suggesting it refers to cotton pickers or slaves,
has unfortunately distorted its original meaning." -snip- This commenter repeated these same comments multiple times in this discussion thread.
** 11. @Johncampy "I was born in lagos and lived there for 9 years . I still
get told my accent is foreign ๐"
** Reply 12. @health2u605 "The word 'akata' never has been, and never will be used
derogatively. Why would anyone want to twist a word used in referencing America
to mean a disparaging way of referring to someone, or a group of peoples, other
than he or she harbouring a malevolent desire to spread hate, disdain, division
and derision.
In Southwestern Nigeria there are essentially two main ways
of referencing the white man's territories: i) *Ilu oyinbo*, literally meaning
'the white man's country'; and ii)
'Akata,' comes into the wider picture in
order to distinguish between Europe and America; they are both referred to as
'Ilu oyinbo,' to know which one of the Ilu oyinbos is being talked about, the
affectionate term 'Akata' is always used for America, and never ever used in a
derogatory way.
Whoever came up with such a mischievous misnomer should just
go get a life, get closer to his or her roots (where they happen to be an
'original Afro descendant in America,) and learn how the culture
functions. ✌️๐ค๐ค✌️"
** Reply 13. @mussiedebrezion8198 "Oh yes it has and still does"
** Reply 14. @jameswatson5807 "@mussiedebrezion8198 it is like woke where the meaning is twisted.
Akata in Nigeria is not derogatively,
the odd thing is in the UK.
Nigerians and Jamaicans had beef way back in the 70s and 80s yet we have never
heard of the word. Akata we only found
out via social media recent.
Akata It is the name
for a wild cat called a serval that has no home but it is used to mean a Yorรนbรก
person who doesn’t know the language or culture, that meaning has been extended
to African Americans or black people in general.
Akata- African
American, Kokoye- Hispanics, Oyinbo- white people."
** Reply 15. @mussiedebrezion8198 "@jameswatson5807 akata is a derogatory slang for fbas ,i
had Nigerian friends tell me this๐ personally and they
were yoruba like my friend sunday ,I'm Eritrean i know this personally and even
us Eritreans call fba barya which means slaves many times unfortunately so the
lies have to stop period" -snip- "fba" = "Foundational Black American", a newly coined referent that is used by some people who were formerly known as African American"
** Reply 16. @jameswatson5807 "@mussiedebrezion8198 You did not read my comment because I
stated the word "Akata used in
Nigeria is not derogatively"
** Reply 17. @jameswatson5807 "@mussiedebrezion8198 The slave thing makes no sense, when Africans
enslaved each other. So it makes no sense."
** Reply 18. @mussiedebrezion8198 "@jameswatson5807 let's be honest ๐I'm
tigrinya from Eritrea and we have never been slavs and we have written language
since millena something the rest of Africans don't have since only recently"
** Reply 19. @tok1879, February 2026 "@mussiedebrezion8198 I'm Yoruba. And if your friend truly
exists, he doesn't know what he's talking about. I've stopped using the word
only because of the way African Americans perceive it but it's purely
descriptive. It can be used both negatively and positively."
** Reply 20. @roybabineaux5353, February 2026 "@tok1879 you guys have never used it in a positive light
when you use akata towards black Americans and it could be Malcolm X or Martin
Luther King Jr. Let's not start lying now be real with yourself you have never
heard Nigerians use akata in a positive light towards black Americans it is
always in a negative light and that is a fact."
** Reply 21. @tok1879, February 2026 "@roybabineaux5353 i don't know who you are. And you don't
know who i am but it's crazy you're this certain as to how I used the world.
The word as we used it was an adjective. You would hear usages like " I
have 3 best friends: one is kokoye, one is akata and the last is naija."
Or "my akata wife is gorgeous" it is purely descriptive. There are
definitely usages that are negative as well just as you can use adjectives like
"black" in a negative manner. I don't think that makes the word
"black" a derogative word."
** Reply 22. @roybabineaux5353, February 2026 "@tok1879 you have a song from a Nigerian called stay away
from the akata. And you say the akata are dumb and stupid you have never ever
use it in a positive light ever. Let's not lie anymore to yourself the cats out
the bag. To us akata is like calling us the n word they are one and the same
now and if you use it in America you might get you teeth knocked out."
** Reply 23. @tok1879, February 2026 "@roybabineaux5353 there's no way you're this slow. I was
today years old when i find out about this song from 5 years ago with less than
60k views.
Again I'm not arguing that there are no misinformed views
that SOME Nigerians have towards black Americans even though there are going
the other direction as well, what I'm saying is that the word akata is
descriptive. It's very possible to use it in a negative manner.
Also you seem to be set in your conclusion as to what the
true usage is. So i probably won't be responding to you anymore. Enjoy."
** 24. @eon001 "Same in the UK. And I've even heard about grown Nigerians that spend a few years living abroad, and they get called Akata."
** Reply 25. @Whatupna "@executivs
And it's used in a derogatory manner as Godfrey demonstrated
but if that's what y'all want to call your own people then good go on and do it
but don't call other people that who don't want to be called that"
** Reply 26. @SttsSttts "Or you are just a foreigner or adopted foreigner culture. My
brother is full blown Rwandese but he was born in Germany, does not speak or
understand our culture, everyone calls him German man or foreigner here๐๐,
it's not because they are jealous."
** Reply 27. @corey22beardable "@SttsSttts jokes come with a form of truth and jealousy"
** Reply 28. @SttsSttts "@corey22beardable it's not jokes though. Its the true.
There is a cultural part in african nations that binds us all together. If I
came and act or behave like German you will be treated like one. Culture is
more important than looks in Africa I believe. This is why our parents make the
effort for us to learn our culture, language and traditions even in foreign
lands."
** Reply 29. @JohnWick-gl6mw "@SttsSttts Well
said sir ๐ฐ๐ช"
** Reply 30. @kevinanith2713, February 2026 "@corey22beardable
I'm Nigerian and jealous of what๐"
** Reply 31. @juggmaneyatta4426, February 2026 "@SttsSttts im black american (Mississippi), but my
grandfather was louisiana creole, he always talked to us about our african
ancestors. Even taught us to speak kouri vini as well as bambara and french. I
tell my friends all the time the problem comes when we as Americans visit
african countries and expect american things and we behave as many americans
would if those expections arent met"
** Reply 32. @StephanieMiller-z2q, February 2026 "@kevinanith2713if you didn’t make it out of
Nigeria then you are deemed to be “jealous” if you did, then this doesn’t
pertain to you"
** 33. @killmongermyhero1169 "So wait they tell us to connect with Africa and go back
home, but from the sounds of it Africans believe fleeing over here is the come
up ๐ค so what am I missing"
**
Reply 34. @James-x2y5u "The U.S. is our home. We ADOS/FBA can't "go back"
to a home the ancestors of some of our ancestors were ripped from but we as
their descendants, never knew. There is value in connecting with the African
descendants of our ancestors who weren't transported to North America, and if
some ADOS/FBA want to remain in Africa for awhile, that's their choice. They
are in the home of our ancestors, but their birth home is the United States of
America." -snip- The referent "ADOS" (American Descendants Of Slaves) was coined shortly before the referent "FBA" (Foundational Black Americans). Both of these terms refer to part of the population that is commonly called "African American".
** Reply 35. @TessaMac-n9n, February 2026 "@James-x2y5u our ancestors were SOLD into
slavery."
** Reply 36. @Keith-b6w2f, February 2026 "Because they ignorantly believe all of us are from Africa
which isn’t true dark skinned people are everywhere on this planet"
** Reply 37. @LexRuger718, February 2026 "@Keith-b6w2f Oh you one of them with an identity crisis"
** Reply 38. @Keith-b6w2f, February 2026 "@LexRuger718 far from
it ๐"
** Reply 39. @007ohboy, February 2026 "@Keith-b6w2f Its adorable...you think youre a Native
American.
What happened to being Egyptian? ๐"
** Reply 40. @Nickademas1, February 2026 "@007ohboy uh the mockery is a sign of your own ignorance.
Please do research, these ideas while sometimes slightly misguided, are not so
far fetched."
** Reply 41. @007ohboy, February 2026 "@Nickademas1 research BS? DNA is a thing. But dont let
science get in the way of a good vibe, Dr Yakub. ๐"
** Reply 42. @Nickademas1, February 2026 "@007ohboy you've cleared up absolutely nothing then
started arguing with yourself..."
** Reply 43. @killahroundz457, March 2026 "@007ohboy
oh you poor sweet summer child
you didn't know the DNA ancestry tests are for entertainment purposes
only. Those aren't actually accurate you can look it up"
** 44. @MsNathelia "What do they call the British Nigerians?"
** Reply 45. @Henrymuglier92 "British Nigerians are referred to as "Britico"
when we visit relatives back in Nigeria"
** Reply 46. @401Orisa "@Henrymuglier92 Britiko was more recent and was more popular
amongst older Lagosians who could differentiate between an Americana and
Britiko. Akata is a general term and used more often. An average Yoruba or Nigerians would label
anyone whether Afro Asian, Afro Britiko or Afro American as Akata first. I gets
called Akata daily as well. In short anyone who speak English with foreign
accent even those born in Nigeriaare labeled as akata ๐"
** Reply 47. @401Orisa "The same. Everyone born overseas are called Akata or JJC.
Akata basically means Panther in Yoruba but derived for Black Panther party
chapter in Nigeria. It isn’t derogatory at all but some just hate it and paint
it as such"
****
January 2026
48. @powderedtoastfacekillah734 "So basically Nigerians who use that word are jealous of
Nigerian Americans"
**
Reply 49. @Moe_Lester_fromUptwn, February 2026 "Yep. Same with nonblacks using the N word as a Slur;
insecurity, envy and you said it, jealousy."
** Reply 50. @badoousain9817,February 2026 "I don't know what it means specifically, but from my
understanding and explanations I've heard,
it's not entirely jealousy - it's more like delineating - saying you're
not born and raised in Africa. Your own family members can call you that, so
it' not entirely derogatory"
** Reply 51. @Losomosso94, February 2026 "They are really jealous of black Americans when you think
about it…
How they going to jealous of Nigerians and ignore the real
group of blacks that made it all possible ?
Yall try hard but will always fail unless you
keep it real every second every minute about black Americans"
** Reply 52. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@Losomosso94 that’s
not how it works
Nigerian Americans want to show that they’re also
Nigerian…and Nigerians are gatekeeping because they think Nigerian Americans
had it easier
You had to try hard to misunderstand the conversation as
badly as you did"
** Reply 53. @Losomosso94, February 2026 "@powderedtoastfacekillah734 Nigerian Americans
definately have called black Americans akata … talk that
You misunderstanding on purpose
And we all know why when it comes to black Americans"
** Reply 54. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@Losomosso94 well go
comment on that video…this video is about Nigerians and Nigerian Americans, sir"
** Reply 55. @TyTyBryant,February 2026 "@powderedtoastfacekillah734 it is stop lying"
** Reply 52. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@T @TyTyBryant u could simply read the video title and avoid
looking this way"
** Reply 56. @TyTyBryant, February 2026 "@p @powderedtoastfacekillah734 hat’s your opinion. I only
deal with facts over here"
**
Reply 57. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@TyTyBryant but…the FACT is that it literally says
“American Nigerians” in the title, not Black Americans
But by all means please continue whatever you think you’re
doing"
** Reply 58. @TyTyBryant, February 2026 "@powderedtoastfacekillah734 akata is used on blk ppl too by Africans so
what’s the point."
** Reply 59. @powderedtoastfacekillah734, February 2026 "@TyTyBryant the point is my comment has to do with the
topic of the video and you can’t stay on topic"
** Reply 60. @TyTyBryant, February 2026 "@powderedtoastfacekillah734 I guess… just know
Hamites and Israelites are not brothers just because they both have different
shades of brown"
** Reply 61. @JosephHenry-x2z, February 2026 "@Losomosso94 yes I'd say so as a Liberian yes its a little
jealousy and a little confusion. Go to these countries in the villages and see
how they live, you'd think the projects in America is super nice after
leaving.. so for us it's like you have all of this and still complaining. To us
it's like your rich friend talking about idk what to eat my parents order too
many different food while you had 2 hot dogs and ice for dinner"
**
Reply 62. @Losomosso94, February 2026 "@JosephHenry-x2z I
understand … i wish they picked morally strong leaders and geo political
partners and built their sovereignty unite and unite Africa like a the AES…
black Americans need you guys we have no power here. Global influence but no
structural power"
Yah Bless"
** Reply 63. @MarloBanfield, February 2026 "@JosephHenry-x2z The point is, whether you are in America or
Africa, our people should not be enduring such suffering for the benefit of
everyone else. We are stronger together!"
** 64. @owohscorner "I'm Bi-ethnic. My mother is Black American, and my father is
Igbo-Nigerian. In the 80s and 90s, ALOT of West Africans congregated in the
American south– not the deep south like Louisiana, but Virginia, the Carolinas
and upper Georgia. And a lot of West Africans, men and women, mixed and married
with the Black Americans in those areas.
Honestly, it could be an entire Anthropological study."
**
Reply 65. @juggmaneyatta4426 "In places like louisiana and Mississippi west africans were
there a bit longer because of the port of new orleans and france and spain
controlling the territory at seperate times. I can trace my family all the way
back to 1781 before louisiana was a apart of the US"
**** February 2026
66.@Cinquemendy9906 "In the Manjaku dialect (West Africa) Akata means to make it,
to overcome, to reach an other side-shore-place-position"
** Reply 67. @Mo1683 "Stop lying. That’s the main issue, that it’s always
purposeful misinformation"
** Reply 68. @13579hee, March 2026 "@Mo1683 no, the truth of the matter is that they really
don't even know the origins of that word"
** Reply 69. @killahroundz457, March 2026 "@Mo1683 but thats just simply not true tho, theres
over 3,000 native languages in africa ,i wouldn't be surprised if the same word has different meanings to
different languages."
** Reply 70. @meesh2015 "@Ghe608 Every Caribbean parent and every African parent need to send their children home for summertime or winter time or both every year so they understand ๐ช๐ฟ๐ช๐ฟ๐ช๐ฟ"
** Reply 71. @big-aimpalancapricenationi3217, March 2026 "If they can afford it.
My family couldn't although I got to go home once."
** 72. @doublepromo8240 "Strange how "akata" is a popular word now because
the movie ":Sugar Hill" with Wesley Snipes and Michael Wright was
released in 1994 and there is a scene where to African men tell Romello
(Wesley) and Raynathan (Michael) "we cannot do business wiith
akata."
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybfv_17pyGo "
** Reply 73. @Mo1683 "Yet they always play dumb with it being a slur for Black
Americans"
** Reply 74. @d.7203, March 2026 "@Mo1683 the movie was written by a Black American who
doesn't speak Yoruba"
** 75. @mrmystery871 "Akata is not a bad word. It came from the nigerian students in US universities in the 60s during the civil rights movement. Akata in yoruba means a panther. It was first used to describe the black panther group of that era. Nowadays it is used to describe all black americans whether nigerian american or not. As long as you are born and grow up black american, you are akata."
** Reply 76. @Them_kids_momma "I suggest you not call Black Americans that."
** 77. @MangoSlade "Godfrey is still a tether!!!!"
** Reply 78. @boomboombaby9140 "A tether is a person that comes from or has ties to another
country that looks down on , questions roots not accepting the truth ,
disrespectful to the people that made it possible for them to enter the
country.๐ฎ" -snip- This definition of "tether" is from the FBA lineage movement. Click https://pancocojams.blogspot.com/2024/10/what-word-tether-means-to-foundational.html for the 2024 pancocojams post "What The Word "Tether" Means To Foundational Black Americans (FBAs)"
** Reply 79.@Moe_Lester_fromUptwn "@boomboombaby9140 a tether is a wolf in disguise, godfrey
isn't that. He calls out the bs"
** Reply 80.@MangoSlade "@Moe_Lester_fromUptwn That tether is against
reparations!!!!!"
** Reply 81. @BronzeSista, March 2026 "Godfrey is right. On one post on Instagram. We talked about how Godfrey stood on business, and he make us laugh. A Nigerian man said Godfrey is not one if us. He doesn't even act like us, and he does an accent thats not a true Nigerian accent. We Black Americans lit him up! You don't have the authority to tell Godfrey he's not Nigerian. We have to defend Godfrey because he is also American"
** Reply 82, @voba2558, March 2026 "That guy is akaterian, means that guy is from abroad"
** Reply 83. @warrenbfeagins, March 2026 "Every benefit and privilege FBAs have was paid for with
Black blood and bodies in the ground. We were an enslaved MINORITY. Nigerians
are a free MAJORITY, yet tell us about what we should be doing??? I appreciate
what Godfrey is TRYING to do. Some will get it. I'm afraid most won't. These
lessons Godfrey is trying to teach are about 60 years too late. Delineation
gatekeeping and vetting is here to stay. FBA fam. ♥️๐บ๐ธ๐ช๐ฟ"
** Reply 84. @TheGhettoPhilosopher "They asses lying because Many of those aficans that are here
also say stay away from the akata and its not their own kind. They mean the
Americans that were slaves Cynthia Orivo should be calling herself akata but
when she used it it was specifically for us."
** Reply 85. @TheGhettoPhilosopher "@helenodiah9420 man stfu with that tether bs. Tether had
one meaning now it has another. Idgaf what you say it meant. Now it's a term
about black Americans. Don't mess with the akata don't sound like don't mess
with your fellow tethers. Save that lame explanation to someone who is new to
akata"
** Reply 86. @JoeyIsaiah, March 2026 "The mindset in these comments is disgusting, we all need to come together as one instead of fighting each other keeping the distraction going, I'm garifuna-honduran American, when my parents came to America in the 90s and how most PEOPLE SEE AMERICA is how it was marketed as "THE LAND OF THE FREE" what Americans have to understand is that in our homelands the corruption is overt and the GANGS have taken over, hec our police walk around with rifles not pistols and you're saying stay home and figure it out? ARE YOU DUMB???? THINK LIKE THIS, America will soon go through the overt corruption and that's when civil war begins and when that starts there's not enough firearms to hold anything down, what they'll do is bac out their A.i powered firearms to put everyone in chec, then what's going to happen? THE AMERICAN WILL TRY TO LEAVE AND IMMIGRATE IN ANOTHER PLACE AND IMAGINE IF THAT PLACE HOLDS THE RHETORIC OF "FIGURE IT OUT IN YOUR HOMELAND" that is why that thinking is detrimental, now for the people who aren't Americans you have to understand and RESPECT THE BLAC AMERICAN for all of their work that people like you and I benefit from while they get no credit so their anger will always be justified, the fighting NEEDS TO STOP and we all need to come together in peace and fight THEM together instead of separate, we first fight bac in America by becoming self sufficient and STOP THE HEAVY CONSUMERISM"
****
March 2026
87. @graphicsRat "From the tone of the word Akata I know it's a Yoruba word
and the first time I heard the word used it was by relatives in the US who
would tell stories about being timid and an African American (Akata) arriving
on the scene and putting their foot down and getting the situation sorted out.
The word suggests someone that either no-nonsense, sophisticated and not very
traditional African. It is not intended to be a slur."
** Reply 88. @meesh2015 "Its actually a slur. Its a yoruba word that basically means animal that doesnt care for its kids."